Two vegan-friendly wines from Delheim. Picture supplied

Vegans will know the struggle when searching for a wine that meets their tastes.

And wine drinkers who didn't know should also be aware that in many instances, animal products derived from milk, eggs, fish and including gelatine are used in a part of the wine making process to fine and clarify the liquid before it is bottled.

This wine making process then naturally limits the number of wines available to vegans and vegetarians when eating out or looking for a bottle of wine at a supermarket or liquor store.

Delheim has only used a type of clay called Bentonite and a plant-derived protein in the wine making process of these two wines which is ideal for the palates of vegans and vegeratians.

The Delheim Pinotage Rosé. Picture supplied

The Delheim Pinotage Rosé 

  • Launched in 1976 it was the first Pinotage Rosé in South Africa.
  • The 2018 Pinotage Rosé is vegan and vegetarian friendly.
  • Features a splash of Muscat de Frontignan (3.5%), which balances the crisp acidity and red berry sweetness with a juicy fruit character and adds to the vibrant perfume character of the wine.
  • Pairs well with pastas, chicken and shellfish and a wide variety of vegetables. 

The Delheim Sauvignon Blanc. Picture supplied.

The Delheim Sauvignon Blanc 

  • The 2018 Delheim Sauvignon Blanc is vegan and vegetarian friendly.
  • It has aromas of tropical fruit, citrus and gooseberry and on the palate, there's green figs and lime.
  • Pairs well with a grilled aubergine bake (or grilled line fish for ‘flexitarians’) and a variety of season-inspired salads.

For more information on these wines check out www.delheim.com