The Porsche Cayman S scored 199 points to narrowly scoop the SA Car of the Year title.

Johannesburg - Porsche has scooped South Africa's Car of the Year contest for the second successive year, with the Cayman S narrowly ousting the Volkswagen Golf 7 in a battle that included nine finalists.

The Porsche Boxster's 2013 victory proved controversial, leaving little doubt that the Cayman's win is going to ruffle some feathers and divide opinion.

The contest, run by the SA Guild of Motoring Journalists, is based on the points-based scoring system used by the European Car of the Year competition. The big difference, however, is that before the final votes are cast, each of the finalists is also put through a stringent testing procedure by the peer-elected Jury at the Gerotek testing facility in Gauteng.

Jurors are urged to compare each finalist to its natural competitors rather than to its fellow COTY finalists. The scoring by each jury member is completely transparent and you can see a detailed breakdown of points allocated by each juror on the SAGMJ website.


Porsche Cayman - 199

VW Golf 7 - 192

Audi A3 Sportback - 168

Mercedes A-Class - 143

Jaguar F-Type - 136

Renault Clio 4 - 133

Lexus IS 350 - 123

Volvo V40 - 106

Peugeot 208 - 100