Independent Online

Monday, May 16, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

BMW F700 GS takes 34th RFS Econorun

Published Sep 1, 2014


Hazyview, Mpumalanga - Andre Schoeman and his BMW F700 GS are South Africa's most efficient bike-rider combination - and that's official.

Schoeman completed the 34th annual RFS Motorcycle Economy Run, over a route of more than 1000km from Pretoria to Hazyview, at the weekend with an average fuel consumption of 3.2975 litres per 100km.

Story continues below Advertisment

He beat Keith Parry on a new Honda NC750 by a heart-breaking 0.0037 litres per 100km and Honda CBR 500R rider Shado Alstom, winner in 2012 and 2013, by just .0058 litres per 100km.

Rounding out the top five were Grant Scott (Honda NC 750) and Willie Duvenage (BMW Sertao), fourth and fifth respectively.


Bavarian Motorcycles took the team challenge honours with no fewer than seven class winners from their 10 member team. The team challenge highlights the spirit of camaraderie which epitomises the Econorun, and explains why so many riders return to compete year after year - none more so than veteran biker Clive Strugnell, who finished 33rd on a KTM 1190 in his 34th Econorun, having started every edition of the event.

The highest placed lady was Glynese de Villiers, who brought her Ducati ST4S home 11th overall.


Competitors tackled a demanding route while trying to maintain maximum fuel-efficiency in extremely windy conditions, requiring both skill and intense concentration to follow a route schedule whilst constantly monitoring their stopwatches to ensure that they reach predetermined checkpoints on time to avoid penalties for clocking in late.

Veteran regularity rally driver Jerry Paice teamed up again with his Total Blind Navigators Rally Championship navigator, Bonita Blankenberg, in the pillion class. The pair's expertise in regularity rallying saw them clinch the pillion class victory aboard a BMW R1200.


Entries were divided into twelve classes based on motorcycle capacity and type, so there was plenty of silverware up for grabs - and here's where the trophies went:

Class A (Motorcycles up to 501cc):

Shado Alston (Honda CBR 500 R) - 3.3033 litres per 100km

Class B (Single-cylinder motorcycles above 501cc):

Denver Biggs (BMW G650GS) - 3.5850

Class C (Two-cylinder road motorcycles 501-800cc):

Keith Parry (Honda NC 750 X) - 3.3012

Class D (Two-cylinder road motorcycles 801-1000cc, multi-cylinder 501-1000cc):

Glynese de Villiers (Ducati ST4S) - 4.0247

Class E (Road motorcycles 1001cc and larger):

Mike Peel (BMW R1200 R) - 4.3395

Class F (Dual-purpose motorcycles up to 1000cc):

Andre Schoeman (BMW F700 GS) - 3.2975

Class G (Dual-purpose motorcycles above 1001cc):

Reg Gurnell (BMW R1200 GS LC) - 4.4796

Class I (Cruisers above 1000cc):

Mark du Plessis (Honda VTX) - 5.8610

Class J (Motorcycles over 1000cc with panniers):

Alan Dougherty (BMW R1200 RT) - 4.3684

Class K (Pillion Class):

Jerry Paice / Bonita Blankenberg (BMW R1200 RT) - 4.5323

Class L (Open Class):

Willie Duvenage (BMW Sertao) - 3.5772

Related Topics: