Zimbabwe's President Emmerson Mnangagwa speaks after being sworn in at the presidential inauguration ceremony in Harare. Picture: Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi/AP

Harare ‑ New Zimbabwean President Emmerson Mnangagwa has on Monday, appointed a two-member interim cabinet “to allow for uninterrupted services in critical government ministries”.

“In terms of section 108 (1c) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe Amendment (Number 20) Act 2013, His Excellency the President of Zimbabwe, Cde Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, has dissolved cabinet, and is in the process of putting together a new team of cabinet ministers," a statement released Monday night by Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Misheck Sibanda, read.

Read: Mnangagwa gives sacked Zim finance minister Chinamasa his job back

“To allow for uninterrupted services in critical ministries of government, the following have been appointed ministers in acting capacity until the announcement of a new cabinet: Honourable Patrick Chinamasa as acting minister of finance and economic development, and Honourable Simbarashe Mumbengegwi as acting minister of foreign affairs.”

Also read: Zimbabwe minister Chombo denied bail in graft case

Ex-Zim finance minister 'beaten up', appears over corruption

Sibanda said Mnangagwa was set to meet all ministry permanent secretaries on Tuesday afternoon, at the Munhumutapa Offices and all the permanent secretaries were “required to attend”.

Mnangagwa was sworn in as Zimbabwe’s new interim president on Friday, at the National Sports Stadium, three days after his predecessor Robert Mugabe stepped down following pressure from the army and citizens after the military took charge of the country on November 15.

African News Agency