Gwede Mantashe. Picture: Jennifer Bruce

Johannesburg - Half of the ANC's newly elected national working committee (NWC) members are women, secretary general Gwede Mantashe said on Friday.

“The ANC expresses its confidence in the ability of individuals elected to the NWC,” Mantashe told reporters in Johannesburg.

“As a collective, the NWC will play a pivotal role in processing and implementation of conference decisions.”

The committee comprises 20 members.

They are Jeff Radebe, Naledi Pandor, Lindiwe Zulu, Bathabile Dlamini, Nomvula Mokonyane, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Jackson Mthembu, Nathi Mthethwa, Lindiwe Sisulu, Malusi Gigaba, Derek Hanekom, Susan Shabangu, Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Collins Chabane, Aaron Motsoaledi, Nomaindia Mfeketo, Blade Nzimande, Fikile Xhasa, Tina Joemat-Pettersson, and Sisa Mabe.

They were elected at the one-day national executive committee meeting in Irene, south of Pretoria on Thursday.

Mantashe said this was the first time the African National Congress was enforcing a provision of its constitution which stated there had to be 50 percent representation of women in leadership.

However, the women elected to the NWC were elected on merit.

The NWC will resume its work immediately. It is responsible for the day-to-day running of the party. - Sapa