An ANC supporter holds a flag of the ANC while the President Jacob Zuma addresses ANC Gauteng Cadre Assembly in Pretoria. Picture: Phill Magakoe

Johannesburg - The African National Congress Veterans' League on Thursday nominated President Jacob Zuma to serve a second term as party leader.

Cyril Ramaphosa was nominated to take over from the ANC’s deputy president, Kgalema Motlanthe.

Several ANC branches, as well as the ANC Youth League, had nominated Motlanthe for president. He had not yet stated whether he would accept the nominations.

The ANCVL wanted to retain Baleka Mbete as ANC chairperson and Gwede Mantashe as secretary-general.

Jessie Duarte was nominated as deputy secretary-general and KwaZulu-Natal premier Zweli Mkhize as treasurer.

The veterans had their nomination conference at the Reef Hotel in Johannesburg.

The ANC's national conference would take place in Mangaung in December. - Sapa