Johannesburg - The deadline for the payment of deposits to contest the May 7 general elections and the submission of candidate lists is 5pm on Wednesday (March 12), the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said.

“The nomination documents and the bank guaranteed cheque must be submitted to the chief electoral officer at the electoral commission national office in Centurion for both national and provincial elections,” spokeswoman Kate Bapela said in a statement.

“Parties who have yet to meet their obligations are urged to come early to avoid a last-minute rush and to allow them time to correct any incorrect or missing documentation.”

The deposit for parties contesting the National Assembly is R200 000 and R45 000 per province that they contest.

The Economic Freedom Fighters took President Jacob Zuma, Home Affairs Minister Naledi Pandor, and the IEC to court over the amount.

On Tuesday, the High Court in Pretoria dismissed the EFF's application for an interdict relating to the payment of the deposit to the IEC.

The EFF is expected to submit its candidate list and pay its deposit to the IEC at 1pm on Wednesday.

Bapela said 13 parties had already submitted their lists.

They are:

* African National Congress

* Democratic Alliance

* Inkatha Freedom Party

* National Freedom Party

* Freedom Front Plus

* African People's Convention

* Africa Unite Party

* Minority Front

* United Christian Democratic Party

* Ubumbano Lwesiwe Sabangoni

* Sindawonye Progressive Party

* Al Jama-ah

* South African Progressive Civic Organisation

Bapela said the IEC would evaluate and verify the documents and candidate lists and inform all parties of any non-compliance by March 18.

“Political parties will then have until 24 March 2014 to rectify any non-compliance.

“The lists of candidates will then be made public from 28 March 2014 to 31 March 2014,” she said.

Members of the public and any political parties had until April 1 to object to any candidate. - Sapa