File photo: Independent Media

Parliaments – The interviewing of candidates to sit on the board of the cash-strapped South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) start on Wednesday morning.

Thirty-six candidates were shortlisted, with one having withdrawn from the process.

Chairman of Parliament's portfolio committee on communications, who will be conducting the interviews, Humphrey Maxegwana said Yaasir Haffejee has sent the committee correspondence that he had withdrawn from the interviewing process "for personal reasons".

Interim boar members -- Khanyisile Kweyama, her deputy Mathatha Tsedu, Febe Potgieter Gqubule, Krish Naidoo, John Mattison -- were included on the list of interviewees and appeared favoured among MPs.

The CVs of the shortlisted candidates were posted on the parliamentary website. Members of the public had until yesterday to comment. 

Besides the interim board, the other candidates are Nomvuyiso Batyi, Rachel Kalidass, Thabiso Ramotso, Kharidzha Dzuguda Rufus, Michael Markowitz, Wllie Currie, Deenadaylen Konar, Harriet Meier, Dawn Earp, Michael Bauer, Judge Chris Greenland, Desmond Golding, Mathumo Manaka, Victor Rambau, Tshifhiwa Khoromba, Mcebo Khumalo, Seipati Khumalo,  Thidzimba Nethengwe, Cikizwa Dingi, Louise Vale, Kwanele Gumbi, Jack Devnarian, Bongumusa Makhatini, Nkosana Mbokane, Michael Sass, Jim Matsho, Jack Phahlane,  Dinkanyane Mohuba, Leanne Govindsamy; and Sandile Kama.

The term of the interim board ends on September 26. They were appointed after a parliamentary inquiry dissolved the previous non-functioning board following findings of mismanagement, irregular spending, and problems with editorial policies, among others.

A permanent board needs to appointed before the expiry of the term of the interim structure.