Independent Online

Thursday, June 30, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

#Elections2019: Are you happy with your party's performance in the elections? Take today's poll

Picture: GCIS

Picture: GCIS

Published May 11, 2019


The African National Congress (ANC) has retained the majority in the National Assembly with 230 seats in the sixth democratic national assembly.

Announcing the results on Saturday, the chairperson of the Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC), Glen Mashinini, said 14 parties would be representing South Africans in the National Assembly after the May 8 elections.

Story continues below Advertisement

The Democratic Alliance will remain the official opposition with 84 seats, and the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) will have 44 seats in Parliament.

The Inkatha Freedom Party will have 14 seats, the Freedom Front Plus will have 10 seats, and the African Christian Democratic Party will have four. The National Freedom Party, United Democratic Movement and Congress of the People will have two each.

Political newcomers GOOD and African Transformation Movement will both have two seats.

More on this

The National Assembly is rounded off with the African Independent Congress receiving two seats and the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC) and Aljama each receiving one seat each.

Are you happy with your party's performance in the elections? 

Take today's poll.

Previous poll results:

Story continues below Advertisement


 Are you satisfied that the elections were free and fair?


 Only 35% of readers who took our poll say they are satisfied that the 2019 genral elections were free and fair, while a whopping 60% of readers have doubts about the integrity of the process. A further 5% of readers said it was too early to tell.

* Click 

 for more #Elections2019 stories. 

Story continues below Advertisement


Related Topics: