File picture: Matthew Jordaan/Independent Media
Parliament – An ad hoc committee of South Africa's Parliament on Friday announced it had nominated six people to fill vacancies on the Commission for Gender Equality.

The six nominees are Tamara Euginia Mathebula, Nthabiseng Moleko, Sediko Daniel Rakolote, Nthabiseng Sepanya Mogale, Sethembiso Promise Mthembu, and Praveena Sukhraj-Ely.

"The shortlisted candidates underwent a rigorous process of interviews, verification of qualifications and screening," the committee said in a statement.

"The criteria used by the Committee to select the candidates during the interview process included motivation, technical knowledge, strategic leadership, team work, innovation and governance."

The candidates still have to be approved by the National Assembly, before their names are sent to the President for official approval.