Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radede. Picture: Siyabulela Duda/GCIS

Cape Town - While the ANC will elect its leadership only in December, the succession race is already taking shape.

Six candidates have thrown their hats into the ring to succeed President Jacob Zuma as party leader.
On Monday the ANC head of policy and Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe welcomed his nomination while he was giving a Nelson Mandela lecture in Nellmapius in Pretoria.

In the presidential race, Radebe will join ANC Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, ANC NEC member Lindiwe Sisulu, ANC National Chairperson Baleka Mbete, former African Union (AU) Commission Chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma and former ANC Treasurer General Mathews Phosa.

Video: Sithembile Mkhwanazi

MOJO asked South Africans who tops their list?