13/06/2012. Former police Commissioner Bheki Cele talks to the media about his firing and the court action he will be taking against Judge Molefe's findings. Picture: Masi Losi

Johannesburg -

AU chairwoman Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, formal Reserve Bank governor Tito Mboweni and former national police commissioner Bheki Cele have all been nominated for the ANC national executive committee (NEC).

One of the biggest losers could be Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula, who has publicly pushed a pro-change agenda, but whose name has been left out of most provincial ANC NEC nominations.

While Gauteng has included Mbalula on its list, which the province described as a “unifying” one, there’s been no such luck in the pro-President Jacob Zuma provinces of KwaZulu-Natal, the Free State, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape, or even the Eastern Cape. Mbalula is trumped by fellow former ANC Youth League leader Malusi Gigaba.

The ANC Women’s League list is headed by Dlamini Zuma, and its president, Angie Motshekga, is fifth. Chief whip Mathole Motshekga is at number 54, while the husband and wife team is also among the KZN and Free State nominations.

Mboweni has the backing of Gauteng and KZN.

Aside from nominating Cele, KZN has backed Cosatu president S’dumo Dlamini, who was also nominated by the Eastern Cape and the Free State, former presidential spindoctor and youth leaguer Zizi Kodwa, and one-time housing minister Sankie Mthembi-Mahanyele.

Former intelligence boss Billy Masetlha has the backing from that province and the Free State.

Cosatu secretary-general Zwelinzima Vavi is on the Eastern Cape list.

The provincial ANC NEC nominations lists all include party provincial chairmen – with the exception of Gauteng’s Paul Mashatile, the arts and culture minister – in a move set to raise eyebrows over attempts to double-dip, as they are automatically included in the NEC by virtue of their provincial status.

Despite being rapped over the knuckles by the public protector for her blank cheque approach to ministerial hotel stays, Agriculture Minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson features in second place on the women’s league list, and is also nominated by KZN, the Eastern Cape and the Northern Cape, where she once served as an MEC.

South African Communist Party (SACP) leader Blade Nzimande is on the women’s league list, as well as in KZN and Free State.

National Assembly Speaker Max Sisulu and his deputy, Nomaindia Mfeketo, also feature on most lists.

ANC NEC member and top strategist Joel Netshitenzhe came in at number 35 on the women’s league list, and has also been nominated in at least two provinces, including the Northern Cape.

Many of the current cabinet ministers, like Siyabonga Cwele (state security), Rob Davis (trade and industry), Thulas Nxesi (public works), Jeff Radebe (justice), Nathi Mthethwa (police), Collins Chabane (minister in the presidency) and Lindiwe Sisulu (public service and administration), feature across lists, alongside deputy ministers Jeremy Cronin (public works) and Ayanda Dlodlo (public service and administration). National Planning Minister Trevor Manuel features on the KwaZulu-Natal ANC NEC list and also in the Free State.

Health Minister Aaron Motsoaledi has also emerged as a popular choice in many provinces, except the Eastern Cape, which is backing Rural Development Minister Gugile Nkwinti. Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, who topped the 2007 Polokwane nominations, has only been named in the Eastern Cape list for the ANC NEC. – Additional reporting by Baldwin Ndaba and Babalo Ndenze

Sunday Independent