Picture: Supplied
Pretoria - The ANC in Tshwane has elected Dr Kgoši Maepa the new regional chairperson at its conference this weekend.

Businessman Maepa replaces Kgosientso "Sputla" Ramokgopa, who was largely blamed for divisions within the region. 

The faction fighting under his watch became so bad that ahead of the local government elections in 2016, Sputla was not nominated as mayoral candidate. His deputy Mapiti Matsena emerged as favourite of the branches. However, higher ANC structures intervened and deployed MP Thoko Didiza instead.

Under Ramokgopa's leadership, the ANC eventually surrendered power in Tshwane to the DA. Matsena, the party's current leader in council, was not available to contest.

Maepa garnered 148 of the votes, beating outgoing regional secretary Paul Mojapelo. Party chief whip in council Aaron Maluleka became the new regional deputy chairperson.

George Matjila, who was believed to be among the most powerful official in the region during Ramokgopa's rule, lost out in the contest for regional secretary to Eugene Modise.

Maepa now faces the task of rebuilding the ANC in Tshwane with a view to wrestle control of the metro back from the DA.

This is how the voting went:

Kgoši Maepa (148)
Paul Mojapelo (136)

Deputy chairperson
Eulenda Mabusela (128)
Aaron Maluleka       (137)
Frans Boshielo.        (18)

George Matjila (134)
Eugene Modise (149)

Deputy secretary 
Ratshi Mashamba  (135)
Charles Masemola (149)

Simphiwe Mbatha (151)
Ananias Mogalusi (132)

Pretoria News