Caster Semenya won double gold at the World and African Championships. Photo: Ian Langsdon/EPA
Caster Semenya won double gold at the World and African Championships. Photo: Ian Langsdon/EPA

Caster Semenya nominated for SA Sports Star of the Year Award

By Ashfak Mohamed Time of article published Oct 19, 2018

Share this article:

She’s had a stellar season, and just days after winning an award in New York, Caster Semenya is up for another piece of silverware.

The Olympic and world 800m champion has been nominated for the Sports Star of the Year in the SA Sports Awards, which will be held in Bloemfontein next month.

Sports Minister Tokozile Xasa announced the nominees on SABC on Friday, and competing with Semenya for the main award are Proteas fast bowler Kagiso Rabada and boxer Hekkie Budler.

But it will be hard to look past Semenya, who has fought through the never-ending criticism and the IAAF’s proposed new regulations for female athletes in events ranging from the 400m to the mile.

She gained a major victory this week as the IAAF decided to postpone the implementation of the new rules from November to March, as they wait for the Court of Arbitration to decide on Semenya’s challenge of the regulations.

The 27-year-old from Limpopo claimed gold at the Commonwealth Games in the 800m and 1 500m, as well as a 400m-800m double at the African Championships.

Semenya also bagged the Diamond League title in the 800m, and received the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award from Billie Jean King and the Women’s Sports Foundation in New York on Wednesday night.

Semenya’s coach Samuel Sepeng is also in the mix for Coach of the Year.

Banyana Banyana were also recognised for winning the Cosafa Women’s Championship by being nominated for Team of the Year, while the public will also have a chance to vote for the People’s Choice Award for Semenya, Chad le Clos, Luvo Manyonga, Zolani Tete and Percy Tau.

Banyana Banyana celebrate winning the Cosafa Women's Championship in Port Elizabeth. Photo: Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

2018 SA Sports Awards Nominees

Administrator of the year: Virginia Mabaso, Wendy May Gila, Mashilo Matsetela
Sportsman of the Year: Chad le Clos, Hekkie Budler, Luvo Manyonga
Sportsman of the Year with a Disability: Charl du Toit, Pieter du Preez, Jonathan Ntutu
Sportswoman of the Year: Bianca Zoonekynd, Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, Caster Semenya
Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Anrune Liebenberg, Melisa Ann O’Niel, Louzzane Coetzee
Team of the Year: Banyana Banyana, Lions Rugby, Springbok Sevens Rugby
Newcomer of the Year: Tatjana Schoenmaker, Minke Janse van Rensburg, Luxolo Adams
Coach of the Year: Dr Suzanne Ferreira, Samuel Sepeng, Nico Coetzee
Volunteer of the Year: Linda Hlophe, Mpho Makhoba, Nkosilathi Moyo
Indigenous Games Team of the Year: Ncuva team, Limpopo, Cape Winelands Drie Stokkies, Western Cape, Morabaraba Team, KwaZulu-Natal
National Federation of the Year:  Softball, Roller Sport, Gymnastics
Recreation body of the Year: The Surfer Kids, Mbekweni Community Sport, Mavu Sport Development
Photographer of the Year: Nick Lourens, Reinhardt Hamman, Steve Haag
Sports journalist of the Year: Charles Balyoi, Motshidisi Mohono, Robert Mathye
School team of the Year: St Benedict’s College, Clapham High School, St Andrews High School
Developing school team of the Year: Machakela-Mamodibo Secondary School, Troyville Primary School, Ndabenhle Primary School
The People’s Choice Sports Star of the Year: Caster Semenya, Chad le Clos, Luvo Manyonga, Zolani Tete, Percy Tau
Sports Star of the Year: Caster Semenya, Kagiso Rabada, Hekkie Budler


IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter

Share this article:

Related Articles