Former Titans batsman Grant Mokoena scored his first Sunfoil Series century for the Knights on Thursday. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

Morné van Wyk and Vaughn van Jaarsveld both hit final-day centuries as the Dolphins drew their Sunfoil Series encounter with the Cape Cobras at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn on Thursday.

The round-five encounter was looking like a draw after three days of action, and the match followed the script when the visitors resumed on their overnight 130/1 and then reached the eventual close on 360/4 – 258 ahead of the hosts.

Veteran opener Van Wyk led from the front with his 106 (165 balls, 11x4, 2x6), which was his 22nd first-class ton.

Van Jaarsveld, meanwhile, was more attacking in compiling the 18th three-figure score of his career after he made 100 (123 balls, 18x4, 2x6).

The pair shared a 167-run second wicket that ensured there was not going to be any final-day drama.

First-innings centurion Dane Vilas added another half-century to his name with his unbeaten 64 (110 balls, 4x4), with Cody Chetty not out on 46.

Dane Piedt was the pick of the bowlers with 2/76.

* A maiden Sunfoil Series century from Grant Mokoena was one of the main highlights on the final day of the clash between the Knights and the Warriors at the Diamond Oval in Kimberley.

The right-handed opener top-scored with 108 (169 balls, 15x4) and received fine support from Keegan Petersen, who made 103 (213 balls, 13x4) as the hosts finished the game on 391/5 in reply to the visitors’ 362 all out.

Only one innings was possible per side after just 40 overs were possible on the first day because of rain and a wet outfield, while the entire day two had to be abandoned due to the weather damage. 

The home side resumed the final day knowing their batsmen were getting in some overs under the belt when they resumed on 168/1.

Mokoena went on to better his previous best score of 75 in the competition with a second first-class ton, while Petersen’s effort was the 10th century of his career. 

Rudi Second was the next best scorer with 40, while Ryan McLaren hit an unbeaten 36. 

Sisanda Magala (2/64) and Simon Harmer (2/118) picked up two wickets each.

Cricket South Africa