Australia will bat first in the second Test against South Africa in Port Elizabeth. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

PORT ELIZABETH – After all the talk in the build-up to this much-anticipated second Test here at St George's Park, the action is finally set to get underway.

Proteas captain Faf du Plessis lost the toss, but looked very pleased with Australian captain Steve Smith's decision to bat first under grey skies in Port Elizabeth.

Du Plessis's satisfaction was probably due to the fact that the pitch was covered all morning due to drizzle falling and a healthy grass covering.

South Africa have made one change to their line-up who lost the first Test in Durban last week with Titans youngster Lungi Ngidi joining the attack at the expense of the experienced Morne Morkel.

Australia meanwhile have named an unchanged team for this second Test.

South Africa:

Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Vernon Philander, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada, Aiden Markram 


Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Cameron Bancroft

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter