By Theo Garrun

Adrian Penzhorn, the talented Maritzburg College sportsman, achieved a rare double when he became one of the few to have gained selection to both the SA Schools rugby and cricket teams.

The SA Schools cricket team was named on Saturday at the conclusion of the eighth Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Cape Town. Penhorn was the only KwaZulu-Natalian to be named in the top team.

However, the national schools selection panel under convener Jay Naidoo also named an SA Colts team, and two Midlands players, Keagan Africa (Hilton College) and Tim Groenewald (Maritzburg College), were selected.

Western Province beat the SA Schools team by seven wickets in a day-night game at Newlands on Sunday that brought the curtain down on the tournament.

The schoolboys batted first and made 188-6 in their 45 overs, thanks mainly to a fine 57 not out from Western Province schools captain Andrew Cronje, and 32 from Northerns's AB de Villiers.

But the score was not going to worry the provincial batsmen. Neil Johnson slammed a quick-fire 55 and this was followed by Lloyd Ferreira who made 77 not out.

Frans Nkuna, the star bowler of the week, produced the only highlights in the field for the schoolboys, taking two wickets, his 17th and 18th in the week, and at just 16 years of age he is clearly someone to watch.

The Ussasa SA Colts beat the Zimbabwe Schools team by 19 runs.


    Platinum Group - 1 North Gauteng, 2 Easterns, 3 Gauteng, 4 Free State, 5 KwaZulu-Natal, 6 W Province, 7 E Province, 8 Zimbabwe, 9 Border, 10 Boland.

    Gold Group - 1 Northwest, 2 Ussasa under-17, 3 KwaZulu-Natal Mynahs, 4 Griquas, 5 Ussasa Country, 6 SWD, 7 Limpopo, 8 Namibia

    SA SCHOOLS: R De Kok (Grey College, Free State capt), B Reddy (Springs Tech, Easterns), J Booysen (HTS Witbank, Easterns), A Cronje (Rondebosch Boys' High, W Province), AB de Villiers (Afrikaanse Hoerseunskool, N Gauteng), H le Roux (Afrikaanse Hoerseunskool, N Gauteng), F Nkuna (J Mahlangu Secondary, N Gauteng), A Phangiso (CBC Pretoria, N Gauteng), V Philander (Ravensmead, W Province), A Penzhorn (Maritzburg College, KwaZulu-Natal), W September (New Orleans, Boland), C Thyssen (Grey High School, E Province). Manager L Roberts (Boland).

    USSASA SA COLTS: F Du Plessis (Afrikaanse Seunshoer, N Gauteng), K Africa (Hilton College, KZN), A De Lange (Grey College, Free State), T Groenewald (Maritzburg College, KZN), F Holtzhausen (Hoerskool Noordkaap, Griquas), J Kgamadi (Milner High, North West), S Mhlongo (Stanger Secondary, KZN), S Mandan (Wordsworth High, Easterns), A Shultz (Hoerskool Dr Blok, Free State), M Slwana (Grey High School, E Province), R Van Eck (Hoerskool Sasolburg, Free State), D Van Wyk (Grey College, FS). Manager S Magiet (WP)