Tania Cronje (left) and Laura Wolvaardt  ahead of their game #WomensT20SuperLeague. Photo: @CSAOfficial via Twitter
Tania Cronje (left) and Laura Wolvaardt ahead of their game #WomensT20SuperLeague. Photo: @CSAOfficial via Twitter

Women’s T20 Super League an opportunity to give players more game time

Time of article published Sep 6, 2019

Share this article:

PRETORIA – The launch of the inaugural 2019 Women’s T20 Super League is an opportunity to provide more competitive cricket for women and, in this way, improve the pool of players for national selection.

The launch took place at the Tuks Cricket Clubhouse in Pretoria on Thursday night, with the clubhouse filled with experienced as well as new, emerging talent in the women’s game.

The Women’s T20 Super League will include four teams and it will be played over three consecutive days at Irene Country club.

“We need to address the lack of game time in the women’s structure in order to produce more quality cricketers,” said Cricket South Africa (CSA) Head of Pathways Edward Khoza.

“The Super League is a concept which will be utilised to close the performance gaps of identified players and coaches within the CSA pipeline, introducing a minimum 3 x Super League weekends (strength vs strength) per season.

“The players will be drafted into four teams, with the specific focus of preparing players for international competition.”

A total of 52 players from various pools, with the required skills-set, will take part in the Women’s T20 Super League.

“This is a great way to shine a light on the growth of women’s cricket, which will provide more opportunities for female cricketers around the country,” explained Khoza.

The tournament format is set to mirror the Proteas Women’s international schedule, with this year’s edition aimed at preparing the players ahead of the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World cup.

The second-leg of the T20 Super League will take place in Cape Town in December.

Team names and players:

Devnarain XI: Dane van Niekerk, Andrie Steyn, Zintle Kula, Mignon du Preez, Sinalo Jafta, Faye Tunnicliffe, Eliz-Mari Marx, Shabnim Ismail, Tumi Sekhukune, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tshegofatso Rampai, Jane Winster, Anri Grobbelaar. Coach: Denisha Devnarain. Assistant coach: Dillon du Preez

M VD Merwe XI:
Lizelle Lee, Lara Goodall, Sune Luus, Izeabella Hester Cilliers, Marizanne Kapp, Delmi Tucker, Michaela Andrews, Christine Tomlinson, Zintle Mali, Evodia Yekile, Nadia Mbokotwana, Nicole De Klerk, Tebogo Macheke. Coach: Martelize van der Merwe. Assistant coach: Jimmy Kgamadi 

F. VD Merwe XI: Tazmin Brits, Robyn Searle, Nadine de Klerk, Gandhi Jafta, Trisha Chetty, Alyssa Elxlebben, Ayabonga Khaka, Moseline Daniels, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Khayakazi Mathe, Yolani Fourie, Carmen Nagel. Coach: Francois van der Merwe. Assistant coach: Mark Charlton

Terblanche XI: Laura Wolvaardt, Annemarie Dercksen, Saarah Smith, Anneke Bosch, Chloe Tryon, Nondumiso Shangase, Verunissa Reddy, Masabata Klaas, Tatum Le Roux, Jade de Fiquerido, N Baneti, Nicolene Janse van Rensburg, Palesa Mapoo. Coach: Claire Terblanche. Assistant coach: Ephraim Nyawo 

African News Agency (ANA)

Share this article: