JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 10, Richard Sterne winner of the Joburg Open at the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club on February 10, 2013 in Johannesburg, South Africa Photo by Petri Oeschger / Sunshine Tour / Gallo Images

Johannesburg – The top three finishers at the Joburg Open will receive automatic entry into the 2014 Open Championship at Royal Liverpool, the Sunshine Tour said on Thursday.

In the event of ties, the Royal and Ancient, governing body of golf, have not specified whether more players would gain exemption to the Major.

The Joburg Open, which became a co-sanctioned event between the European and Sunshine Tours in 2007, would now serve as a doorway into the oldest and most prestigious golf Major.

The R19-million tournament will be played at the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club from February 6-9.

This year's field included former champions Richard Sterne, Branden Grace, Charl Schwartzel and Ariel Canete, as well as 2005 US Open champion Michael Campbell. – Sapa