GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 12: Steven Hunt of South Africa attempts to break away from the defence during the Gold Coast Sevens round one match between England and South Africa at Skilled Stadium on October 12, 2013 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Johannesburg – The Springbok Sevens have made two changes to their 12-man squad for their home tournament, the Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens, which will take place on December 7 and 8 in Port Elizabeth.

Steven Hunt replaces Jamba Ulengo while Kwagga Smith will make his Sevens World Series and Springbok Sevens debut in place of Stephan Dippenaar.

Ulengo (foot) and Dippenaar (hamstring) were injured last week in Dubai, where South Africa finished as runners-up to Fiji.

Veteran forward Frankie Horne has been declared fit and will play in his 53rd World Series tournament.

Hunt is a Springbok Sevens contracted player and regular World Series squad member, who last played at the Gold Coast Sevens, where South Africa placed fourth.

Smith, a Junior Springbok, comes in for his debut tournament after being part of the SA Sevens Academy and the wider Springbok Sevens training group for the past two years.

The Golden Lions flanker is familiar with the Springbok Sevens set-up and should slot in easily. He was one of the standout players for the SA Sevens Academy, playing under the banner of the Samurai Internationals, who won their Dubai Invitational title for a fourth successive time last weekend.

South Africa is currently third on the overall World Series log behind New Zealand and Fiji, and will be hoping to not only close the gap but also add to their single home title, which they won five years ago in George.

Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell said the team hoped to maintain the form they showed in Dubai last week.

“Consistency is key for us and we will therefore look to keep our focus and do really well on day one,” Powell said.

“Our management and players know very well the importance of this tournament and the expectations of our home supporters.”

Springbok Sevens squad: Chris Dry, Phillip Snyman, Frankie Horne, Kwagga Smith, Sampie Mastriet, Kyle Brown (captain), Branco du Preez, Steven Hunt, Justin Geduld, Cecil Afrika, Werner Kok, Cheslin Kolbe. – Sapa