Commonwealth Games Sevens Gold medal favourites New Zealand. Photo: @nz7s on Twitter

WELLINGTON – New Zealand have named their sevens team for the Commonwealth Games taking place at the Gold Coast, Australia, from April 4-15. 
The team will defend a rich history, having won four gold medals and one silver at previous Commonwealth Games. 

South Africa is the current Commonwealth Games Men's rugby Sevens champions after beating New Zealand (12-17) in Glasgow, Scotland for years ago.

New Zealand Rugby’s Chief Strategy and Operations Manager Nigel Cass said the Commonwealth Games is a pinnacle event on the Sevens calendar.

“Rugby’s involvement in the Commonwealth Games dates back 20 years to Kuala Lumpur and our men have time and time again produced memorable performances."

The New Zealand Men's Sevens team: 

Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Scott Curry (Bay of Plenty), Dylan Collier (Waikato), Sam Dickson, (Canterbury), 
Trael Joass (Tasman), Vilimoni Koroi (Otago), Andrew Knewstubb (Tasman), Sione Molia (Counties Manukau), 
Kurt Baker (Manawatu), Joe Webber (Bay of Plenty), Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty), Ngarohi McGarvey-Black (Bay of Plenty), 
Travelling reserve: Caleb Clarke (Auckland). 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter