Makazole Mapimpi has been in top form for the Southern Kings in Super Rugby. Photo: Deryck Foster, BackpagePix

Experienced Springboks Trevor Nyakane, Ruan Combrinck, Juan de Jongh and Lionel Mapoe will lead the charge for the SA ‘A’ team when they face the French Barbarians in two matches in Durban and Soweto next month.

Apart from these four Springboks in the 26-man squad, the national selectors also added a host of promising players in the group to face the French visitors.

The SA ‘A’ side will again be coached by Lions mentor Johan Ackermann, who was also in charge when the team played against the England Saxons last season.

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee said he was excited by the next crop of players coming through the ranks.

“I think we have a brilliant mix of experienced players who have tasted what Test rugby is all about already, and very promising prospects youngsters who will be pushing for higher honours in the not-too-distant future,” said Coetzee.

“In my view, there is definitely a lot of value in having players with Test experience playing with these exciting prospects, who along with the Junior Springboks, represent the future of South African rugby.”

Combrinck, who missed the Springbok tour of the United Kingdom and Italy at the end of 2016 because of injury, is part of an exciting-looking backline.

He made an impressive Super Rugby comeback last weekend for the Lions against the Bulls in Johannesburg.

Exciting youngsters such as Ox Nche, Thomas du Toit, Jason Jenkins, Chris Cloete, Andisa Ntsila and Makazole Mapimpi will get an opportunity to impress Coetzee as well.

SA ‘A’ Squad

Forwards (14): Ruan Botha, Uzair Cassiem, Chris Cloete, Thomas du Toit, Andries Ferreira, Jason Jenkins, Wilco Louw, Jean-Luc du Preez, Franco Marais, Ox Nche, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Andisa Ntsila, Trevor Nyakane, Ramone Samuels.

Backs (12): Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Cronjé, Juan de Jongh, Warrick Gelant, Makazole Mapimpi, Lionel Mapoe, Dewaldt Duvenage, Jamba Ulengo, Francois Venter, Jano Vermaak, Harold Vorster, Fred Zeilinga.

SA Rugby

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter