Cobus Wiese will add much-needed grunt to the Stormers pack. Photo: Ryan Wilkisky, BackpagePix

The Stormers have included former Highlanders centre Shaun Treeby in their 27-man squad for their Super Rugby tour of New Zealand.

The Cape side will face the Crusaders, Highlanders and Hurricanes on their three-week tour of New Zealand.

Treeby, who signed a short-term contract with the Stormers recently, last played Super Rugby in 2015, and earned 50 caps for the Highlanders.

His local knowledge and experience could be handy in what is a daunting trip that has been made even more difficult for the Stormers following their 29-16 loss to the Lions at Newlands on Saturday – their first defeat of the year.

With six wins from their seven games, the Stormers top Africa Conference 1, and are 16 points ahead of the Bulls.

Fleck said that the squad is looking forward to the challenge of playing three games in New Zealand.

“As a group, we enjoy touring together and we know that we will be seriously tested against some quality teams in New Zealand,” he said.

“The players have embraced the challenge, and we are keen to make the most of our time together on tour, which should bring us even closer together.”

Godlen Masimla and Johan du Toit, who were on the bench against the Lions, missed out on the tour group, with Dewaldt Duvenage (rested) and Cobus Wiese (shoulder injury) coming back.

Wiese in particular makes a welcome return and will add some much-needed physicality to a Stormers that were outmuscled by the Lions at the weekend.

The extra players that will join the squad when they leave Cape Town on Sunday are wing Bjorn Basson, prop Alistair Vermaak and Treeby.

Stormers Tour Squad

Bjorn Basson, Nizaam Carr, Kurt Coleman, Jan de Klerk, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Dan du Plessis, Robert du Preez, Dewaldt Duvenage, Eben Etzebeth, JC Janse van Rensburg, Oli Kebble, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Dan Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, SP Marais, Bongi Mbonambi, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Ramone Samuels, Shaun Treeby, Chris van Zyl, Alistair Vermaak, Jano Vermaak, EW Viljoen, Cobus Wiese.