Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth will skipper the Stormers for the first time on Saturday. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix
CAPE TOWN -  Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth will captain the Stormers for the first time on Saturday when they face the Kings in Port Elizabeth.

Etzebeth will lead the Stormers in the place of skipper Siya Kolisi, who is being rested for the match.

In other changes, Oli Kebble and Frans Malherbe will pack down in the front row on either side of hooker Bongi Mbonambi in their first start of the season.

Sikhumbuzo Notshe will get his second start in the place of Kolisi at flank, while Nizaam Carr will start at the back of the scrum.

In the backline, Dewaldt Duvenage and Robert du Preez will be the halfback pairing, while Jano Vermaak will be rested and Jean-Luc du Plessis is out with a groin injury.

In midfield, Dan du Plessis will make his first appearance at No 12 this season as Dan Kriel picked up an injury against the Jaguares, while Bjorn Basson will make his Stormers debut on the wing in the place of the injured Cheslin Kolbe.

On the bench, loose forward Jaco Coetzee, scrumhalf Justin Phillips and utility back Damien Willemse could make their Super Rugby debuts at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Stormers team: 

15 SP Marais, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Bjorn Basson (DHL Stormers debut), 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (captain), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.  Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Chris Van Zyl, 20 Jaco Coetzee (Super Rugby debut), 21 Justin Phillips (Super Rugby debut), 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Damian Willemse (Super Rugby debut).

Independent Media