Thulani Serero is set to make a fresh start with Bafana Bafana and Stuart Baxter. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – Stuart Baxter says he’s given Thulani Serero no guarantees that he will play for Bafana Bafana against Nigeria later this month after he recalled the attacking midfielder to the national team on Monday.

In February this year, Serero was banned by then-Safa chief executive Dennis Mumble because he’d snubbed a call-up ahead of South Africa’s clash against Senegal in the World Cup qualifier late last year.

Bafana will host the Super Eagles in their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at FNB Stadium on November 17.

“I have spoken to Thulani, and we are on the same page,” said Baxter, referring to the player’s demands then that he was not willing to fly all the way to SA from The Netherlands, only to sit on the bench.

“His return is unconditional, and he has assured me of this. I was delighted to hear that.

“I know what happened in the past, but he gets a second chance with me. It’s not open the door and close it like an old Wild West saloon.

“It matters what sort of environment we have around the national team – the code of conduct the public wants from the national team.

“He is a national team and an impact player.”

Bafana Bafana Squad 

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Hlatshwayo, S’fiso Hlanti, Buhle Mkhwanazi (all Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City).

Midfielders: Vincent Pule, Thembinkosi Lorch (all Pirates), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Lebohang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda (all Sundowns), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Thulani Serero (Vitesse).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang), Themba Zwane (Sundowns).


IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter