Wits captain Thulani Hlatshwayo. Photo: BackpagePix

The local soccer season finally ended with the Nedbank Cup final at the weekend, where SuperSport United thrashed Orlando Pirates 4-1 at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

So now the time has come to choose the best of the best…

They were all outstanding throughout, but who will be crowned the Footballer of the Season between Wits captain Thulani Hlatshwayo, Mamelodi Sundowns stalwart Hlompho Kekana and Cape Town City talisman Lebogang Manyama?

They were officially nominated by the PSL on Monday, along with a host of others in various categories…

The PSL Awards function will take place at the Sandton Convention Centre on Monday, July 10.

PSL Awards Nominees

Footballer of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City).

Premiership Top Goal-Scorer: Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City – 13 goals).

Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Lebogang Manyama, Aubrey Ngoma (both Cape Town City), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Darren Keet (Wits), Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Shu-aib Walters (Cape Town City).

Midfield general Hlompho Kekana of Sundowns. Photo: BackpagePix

Premiership Defender of the Season: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Sifiso Hlanti (both Wits), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs).

Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabang Monare (Wits), Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City).

Premiership Young Player of the Season: Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Phakamani Mahlambi (Wits), Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows).

Premiership Coach of the Season: Gavin Hunt (Wits), Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City).

National First Division Top Goal-Scorer: Sedwyn George (Royal Eagles).

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Michael Boxall (SuperSport United), Lebogang Manyama, Aubrey Ngoma (both Cape Town City).

Cape Town City skipper Lebogang Manyama. Photo: BackpagePix

Nedbank Cup

Young Player of the Tournament: Siyabonga Dube, Nduduzo Sibiya (both Golden Arrows), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United).

Player of the Tournament: Mpho Makola, Abbubaker Mobara (both Orlando Pirates), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United).


Last Man Standing: Daine Klate, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Gabadinho Mhango (all Wits).

Multichoice Diski Challenge

Player of the Tournament: Keletso Makgalwa, Motjeka Madisha (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Mlondi Dlamini (Maritzburg United).

Referee of the Season: Christopher Harrison, Phelelani Ndaba, Thando Ndzandzeka.

Assistant Referee of the Season: Xolani Duma, Luvuyo Pupuma, Mervyn van Wyk.

IOL Sport