Serero named Player of the Year

By Time of article published May 30, 2011

Share this article:

Johannesburg - Ajax Cape Town's Thulani Serero won the Player of the Year award at the PSL Awards at Gold Reef City on Sunday night.

The 21-year-old striker's awards included Footballer of the Year Award, the Premiership Player of the Season, Premiership Players’ Player of the Season as well as the Red Hot Young Player of the Season awards.

The other main awards saw Moroka Swallows’ Siyabonga Nomvethe grabbing the MTN8 Player of the Tournament Award, Knowledge Musona taking the Telkom Knockout Player of the tournament, while Andile Jali was crowned the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

Outgoing PSL CEO Kjetil Siem bid farewell to South African football.

“The League has done extremely well in the season following the World Cup and the players have certainly raised the bar and the standard of play. We need to build on this and grow the PSL into a more competitive league on the field and a stronger brand off it,” said Siem. - Sapa


PSL Footballer of the Year - Thulani Serero - R250 000

NFD Inland Stream Top Goal Scorer - Rodney Ramagalela - R25 000

NFD Coastal Stream Top Goal Scorer - Atusaye Nyondo - R25 000

Referee of the Season - Daniel Bennett - R50 000

Assistant Referee of the Season - Zakhele Siwela - R40 000

Absa Premiership Player of the Season - Thulani Serero - R150 000

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season - Ruud Krol - R75 000

Absa Premiership Players Player of the Season - Thulani Serero - R150 000

Absa Premiership Red Hot Young Player - Thulani Serero - R150 000

Absa-lutely awesome goal of the season - Tlou Segolela - R50 000

Absa Premiership goalkeeper of the Season - Patrick Tignyemb - R50 000

Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer - Knowledge Musona - R25 000

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament - Knowledge Musona - R200 000

MTN8 Player of the Tournament - Siyabonga Nomvethe - R150 000

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament - Andile Jali - R100 000

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament - Tlou Segolela - R25 000

Chairman's Award - Lucky Lekgwathi - R100 000

Share this article: