WHILE young South African bowls star Tracy-Lee Botha was picking up two silver medals over the weekend in the Six Nations Championships in Adelaide, the Warwick SA Women’s Nationals – hosted by Eastern Gauteng – got underway.

World No6 Kelsey Cottrell beat 22-year-old Commonwealth Games gold medallist Botha 21-20 in what was by all accounts a thrilling gold medal women’s singles clash.

“The game was of a very high standard,” said Australia’s national coach Steve Glasson.

“Kelsey was on top early on but Tracy (who led 20-19 near the end) is a street fighter. She is a very determined young lady and a quality player, she fought hard and so full credit to her.”

The other silver for Botha came in the women’s trips, where she, Silvia Burns and Santjie Steyn lost 21-12 to Australia’s Claire Duke, Rebecca Quail and Karen Murphy in the gold medal match.



Section 1 (Brakpan Mines): T Meyerdericks (Bryanston Sports). Section 2 (Benoni BC): E van Coller (Alberton). Section 3 (Edenvale): R van Breda (Belgravia). Section 4 (Alberton): J Blythe (Roodepoort CC). Section 5 (Benoni Municipals): G Bingham (Wingate Pk). Section 6 (Springs OB): J Hackland (Umhlali). Section 7 (Brackenhurst): E Cawker (Margate). Section 8 (Northmead): S Glenn (Bedfordview). Section 9 (Modderfontein): L Longmore (Discovery). Section 10 (Springs OB): W Richardson (Northmead). Section 11 (Reading): V Taylor (Belgravia). Section 12 (Brackenhurst): A Briel (Rustenburg Impala). Section 13 (Benoni BC): L Larkin (RDLI). Section 14 (Brakpan Mines): B Berz (Killarney). Section 15 (Kempton Pk): S Malan (Vryheid).

Section 16 (Edenvale): C Breitenbach (Potch). Section 17 (Kempton Pk): C Mostert (Umhlali CC). Section 18 (Benoni Municipals): L Wessels (PHSOB). Section 19 (Delville Germiston): A Johnstone (Northmead). Section 20 (Alberton): B Baleri (Klipbank). Section 21 (Lake Club): E Gerber (Alberton). Section 22 (Northmead): G Matthews (RDLI). Section 23 (Lake Club Benoni): A Dimant (Killarney). Section 24 (Reading): M Laage (Wonderboom). Section 25 (Modder): CA Mills (Primrose). Section 26 (Springs Town): S Channon (Wonderboom). Section 27 (Edenvale): M Key (Bloem Munies). Section 28 (Springs Town): V Frost (Wingate Pk). Section 29 (Delville Germiston): H Holberg (Northlands). Section 30 (Edenvale): C Brits (Potchefstroom)