Virat Kohli spins the coin, but AB de Villiers called incorrectly at The Oval on Sunday. Photo: @ICC via Twitter

Indian captain Virat Kohli won the toss and chose to bowl first against the Proteas in their massive ICC Champions Trophy clash at The Oval in London on Sunday.

The showdown is a virtual quarter-final knock-out game, with the winners going through to the semi-finals at the top of Group A, while the losers will go out of the tournament.

The South Africans made one change to the starting line-up, with Andile Phehlukwao replacing Wayne Parnell in the second all-rounder slot.

India also made a tweak to their side, with spinner Ravi Ashwin coming in for paceman Umesh Yadav.

Proteas captain AB de Villiers stated that it was “not a bad thing to bowl first” as they had done well at the same venue against Sri Lanka in their first match of the tournament.

“We have seen some decent scores here, and we are pretty excited,” De Villiers said at the toss.

Teams For The Oval

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Ravi Ashwin, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter