PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 12: he captians, Graeme Smith of South Africa and Michael Clarke of Austrailia at the toss during day 1 of the 1st Test match between South Africa and Australia at SuperSport Park on February 12, 2014 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Cape Town – Australia won the toss and chose to bat first in the third Test at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

With the series locked at 1-1 coming into the third and final Test, the Proteas were seeking their first ever series win in South  Africa over Australia since re-admission.

Australia won the first Test in Centurion, and South Africa won the second match in Port Elizabeth.

Bowler Kyle Abbott and opening batsman Alviro Petersen were the only two changes for South Africa at the expense of Wayne Parnell and Quinton de Kock.

Petersen took up his regular position in the team after missing the second Test with illness.

The batting order would be shuffled slightly for South Africa with Petersen returning. Dean Elgar was listed to bat at three, with the rest of the batsman dropping down a spot, while Abbott would come in at number nine.

Abbott made the team for the injured Parnell. For Abbott, it marked his second Test for the Proteas after making his debut against Pakistan in February 2013.

In that match Abbott returned match figures of 9/68, after taking seven wickets in the first innings.

Australia also made two changes with batsman Shaun Marsh and bowler Peter Siddle missing out. Bowler James Pattinson and returning allrounder Shane Watson come into the team.

South Africa team: Graeme Smith (capt), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers (wk), Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy,  Vernon Philander, Kyle Abbott, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

Australia team: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Alex Doolan, Michael  Clarke (capt), Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, James Pattinson, Ryan Harrirs, Nathan Lyon. – Sapa