Independent Online

Friday, May 20, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Duanne Olivier recalled, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton receive maiden Proteas Test team call-up

Duanne Olivier of Imperial Lions has been recalled to the Proteas Test team for their series against India. Photo: Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

Duanne Olivier of Imperial Lions has been recalled to the Proteas Test team for their series against India. Photo: Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

Published Dec 7, 2021


Johannesburg - Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton were called up to the Proteas Test squad for the first time on Tuesday as part of a 21-man squad for the three match Test series against India.

The Lions pair have been rewarded for excellent starts in the domestic Four-Day competition, with the left-handed Rickelton having struck two centuries, while Magala with 15 wickets, has been part of the most potent attack in the competition.

Story continues below Advertisement

Another member of that attack, Duanne Olivier also returns to the Test squad two years after his last match, whereafter he signed a Kolpak contract with Yorkshire. With those contracts no longer prohibitive following Brexit, Olivier’s stunning form in the Four-Day competition, was something the national selectors couldn’t ignore. He’s picked up 28 wickets at an average of 11.14, to lead the wicket-taking charts in the competition.

The squad retains the core of the group that beat the West Indies 2-0 in the Caribbean earlier this year.

The first Test starts at SuperSport Park on Boxing Day.

South Africa’s Test squad vs India:

Dean Elgar (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain, Imperial Lions), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper, Momentum Multiply Titans), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Six Gun Grill Western Province), George Linde (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Keegan Petersen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Kyle Verreynne (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Glenton Stuurman (Gbets Warriors), Prenelan Subrayen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sisanda Magala (Imperial Lions), Ryan Rickelton (Imperial Lions), Duanne Olivier (Imperial Lions).

CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said:

Story continues below Advertisement

“We as the Selectors are excited for the return of Test cricket. This format is very important to CSA and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organisation’s priorities.

“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time.

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil.

Story continues below Advertisement

“On behalf of the Selectors, I would like to wish Dean (Elgar), Mark Boucher and the team all of the best for the next few weeks of what I’m certain will be really entertaining cricket.”

Betway Test Series Schedule

26-30 December 21 1st Betway WTC Test vs India SuperSport Park, Centurion

Story continues below Advertisement

03-07 January 22 2nd Betway WTC Test vs India Imperial Wanderers, Johannesburg

11-15 January 22 3rd Betway WTC Test vs India Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

*The first two Betway Test matches will commence at 10:00 SAST and the third will begin at 10:30 SAST.

Related Topics: