CHITTAGONG, BANGLADESH - MARCH 27: Ahsan Malik of the Netherlands celebrates dismissing Albie Morkel of South Africa during the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 Group 1 match between South Africa and the Netherlands at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium on March 27, 2014 in Chittagong, Bangladesh. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

CHITTAGONG, Bangladesh – Paceman Ahsan Malik recorded the best bowling figures by a Dutchman in a Twenty20 international to help the Netherlands restrict South Africa to 145-9 in Chittagong on Thursday.

Malik led a much improved show by the Netherlands with 5-19 in his four overs against a formidable South African batting line up which couldn't get going after they were put into bat in the Super-10 Group one match.

The 24-year-old bettered the previous best bowling feat by a Dutch bowler of 4-19 achieved by teammate Pieter Seelaar against Kenya in Abu Dhabi four years ago.

South Africa lost opener Quinton de Kock in the first over for nought and couldn't get the kick start they needed at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium.

Hashim Amla, who hit seven boundaries and a six off 22 balls, top-scored with 43 and tried to lift the tempo but regular wickets kept the South Africans in check.

Amla hit four boundaries and a six off one Michael Swart over but Malik removed him in his first over and then took the dangerous Albie Morkel (five) in his second.

He also took Dale Steyn (five), Beuran Hendricks (three) and David Miller (17) to improve on his previous best figures of 3-16, in the tournament.

Even AB de Villiers (21), skipper Faf du Plessis (24) and Jean-Paul Duminy (12) failed to score big as they fell to miscued shots.

South Africa left out paceman Morne Morkel to bring Hendricks into the side which beat New Zealand by two runs on Monday.

The Netherlands kept the same side which were bundled out for the lowest-ever Twenty20 total of 39 against Sri Lanka on Monday.

Sri Lanka play England in the next game later Thursday.

Top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals to be played in Dhaka on April 3 and 4.

The final will be played on April 6. – Sapa-AFP