JP Duminy is set to come in at No 4 for the Proteas against Zimbabwe tonight. Photo: BackpagePix

This time he didn’t bring JP Duminy along to spin the coin, and once again, Faf du Plessis didn’t get to choose whether to bat or bowl as he lost the toss for the second T20 international against Zimbabwe on Friday.

But not to worry, as the South African skipper wanted to bowl first anyway at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

Zimbabwe captain Hamilton Masakadza opted to bat on what he felt was a good surface to set a target.

The visitors made just one change to their side, with opener Solomon Mire returning in place of Chamu Chibhabha.

But the Proteas have four new faces in JP Duminy, Heinrich Klaasen, Robbie Frylinck and Dane Paterson. 

Duminy effectively replaces Gihahn Cloete, with Rassie van der Dussen moving to his more familiar opening spot, while Klaasen comes in for Christiaan Jonker in the middle-order.

Paterson and Frylinck add an extra pace element to the bowling attack, with Imran Tahir rested and Junior Dala left out.

“I was actually going to bowl first here tonight. I think there’s a little bit of rain about, so if the covers do come on, there will be a little extra moisture,” Du Plessis said at the toss.

“Also there could be a little dew tonight. It was quite bad the other night, so just with the ball skidding on a little bit more hopefully at night.”

Play will start at 6pm at Senwes Park.

More to follow…

Teams For Potchefstroom

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Robbie Frylinck, Dane Paterson, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Solomon Mire, Brendan Taylor, Tarisai Musakanda, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Brandon Mavuta, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chisoro, Chris Mpofu.


IOL Sport

Like IOL Sport on Facebook

Follow IOL Sport on Twitter