LONDON, ENGLAND - SEPTEMBER 02: AB de Villiers of South africa watches the ball during the 4th NatWest Series ODI match between England and South Africa at Lord's Cricket Ground on September 2, 2012 in London, England. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

Paarl - New Zealand won the toss and chose to put South Africa in to bat first in the first of three one-day internationals, starting at Paarl, believing they have the batting strength to chase down any total set by the Proteas.

It is a decision Proteas captain AB De Villiers would have liked, saying that he too would have chosen to bowl, using the little moisture available in an otherwise dry-looking pitch.

South Africa handed Rory Kleinveldt his one-day internsational debut after his impressive showing in the second test against new Zealand, when he deputised for the injured Vernon Philander.

He will line up with Dale Steyn and Lonwabo Tsotsobe, ranked four in the ODI standings, in the pace attack, while Morne Morkel, in accordance with the plan to rotate the bowlers, will watch from the stands.

For New Zealand, who have been wracked by injury, ODI caps were handed to all-rounders Mitchell McClenaghan and Jimmy Neeham

Teams: South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers, Francois Du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobo

New Zealand : Rob Nichol, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, BJ Watling, James Franklin, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan McCullum, Grant Elliott, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan - Sapa