England captain Eoin Morgan spins the toin, but Proteas skipper AB de Villiers called incorrectly at Taunton. Photo: @ICC via Twitter

England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to bowl first against South Africa in the second T20 clash at Taunton on Friday.

Proteas captain AB de Villiers said he would’ve also opted to bowl first if he’d won the toss, but said that it wasn’t too much of an issue to bat as the South Africans try to hit back following a humiliating nine-wicket defeat in the first T20 in Southampton on Wednesday.

“We didn’t play that bad (as the score suggests),” De Villiers said at the toss. “We had the harder part of the conditions, but that was no excuse. It was a hard pill to swallow, but we are hungry to play better cricket (on Friday).”

The Proteas have made three changes to their starting line-up, with pacemen Morné Morkel, Chris Morris and Dane Paterson adding speed and swing to the attack in place of Wayne Parnell, Imran Tahir and Dwaine Pretorius, who were all punished in the first match.

Play starts at 6pm SA time.

Teams At Taunton

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Jon-Jon Smuts, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Mangaliso Mosehle, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Morné Morkel, Dane Paterson.

England: Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone, Liam Dawson, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Tom Curran.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter