ICC Chief executive David Richardson.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – Former chairman of New Zealand Cricket Alan Isaac was elected as new president of International Cricket Council during the annual conference on Thursday.

Isaac replaced India's Sharad Pawar for a two-year term.

South Africa's former Test wicketkeeper David Richardson was also confirmed as the new ICC chief executive – replacing his countryman Haroon Lorgat.

Isaac's term will end in 2014 after which it was agreed that a new post of chairman will be created and the president's role will only be ceremonial.

Russia and Hungary were awarded affiliate membership of ICC but Switzerland was removed as an affiliate member having been suspended at the 2011 annual conference for failing to comply with the ICC's membership criteria and having still not done so. – Sapa-AP