The Blitzboks were't able to overcome New Zealand in their Cup semi-final. Photo: @Blitzboks via Twitter

It was a thrilling encounter throughout, but the New Zealand Sevens team did enough to beat the Blitzboks 19-12 and book their first final at the Cape Town Sevens.

In a repeat of last year’s Cape Town semi-final – in which the hosts knocked the Kiwis out to secure their final spot against England – the New Zealanders celebrated a win this time around after also beating the defending Cape Town title-holders, England, in a quarter-final clash earlier in the day.

The Springbok Sevens got the match off to a great start with an early try by Philip Snyman after a brilliant run by Seabelo Senatla.

The skipper finished in style and powered his way out of Kiwi hands before dotting down.

The New Zealanders responded shortly afterwards with a try of their own, but playmaker Cecil Afrika ensured that the hosts didn’t stay down for long as he worked his way into the Kiwis’ in-goal area as well, before Vilimoni Koroi showed his class to cross the tryline to level the scores at 12-12.

New Zealand also had the last word in the fight when Joe Webber ran in the last try of the match to take the score to 19-12.

New Zealand will take on Argentina, who beat Canada 14-12, in the Cup final, while the Blitzboks will play for third spot at 7.18pm.


Blitzboks 12 – Tries: Philip Snyman, Cecil Afrika Conversion: Branco du Preez (1).

New Zealand 19 – Tries: Tim Mikkelson, Vilimoni Koroi, Joe Webber. Conversions: Vilimoni Koroi (1), Andrew Knewstubb (1).


IOL Sport