Actor, comedian and two-time winner of a Safta award Siyabonga Radebe Picture: Supplied

Johannesburg – The most talked about South African Film and Television Awards, coming this weekend, will be awarding the best in the business, with the most captivating shows that have been nominated being celebrated.

Among the many judges on the panel is actor, comedian and two-time winner of a Safta award, Siyabonga Radebe who says that the awards ceremony have evolved to becoming more sophisticated and worthy of recognition.

“The Saftas have grown, they are much better. I mean, going into a different town is one of the many indications that the awards have grown. People must expect great things.

“I think they (people) might be shocked by the event itself and how organised it will be more than being shocked by results.

Radebe who has won an awards twice now reflects on the judging process as one that has nurtured him and his views on the industry entirely.

“I was honoured to be asked to be part of the judging panel, and in the same breath was also curious to find out how the processes to choosing the ultimate winner worked. That is what I was most interested in.

“Also, I got to watch so much good material, in my case I got to watch a lot of feature films. I was just amazed at how many feature films are produced in this country and how great we are. I don’t think a lot of feature films make it to cinema unfortunately but it was a blessing and honour to learn from these many productions that I watched.

A good learning process, adds the 35 year old.

Radebe believes that the judging process not only called for a matured person but one that carried experience that will help them carry the tasks forward.

“You don’t see the amount of work you have done until you turn back and look at what you’ve been doing. I came to Joburg when I was 22 years, and was fortunate to start working after 3 or 4 years of being here. So being added as a judge, it happened at the right time, like everything else.

“And they made a very smart decision, because I think I make a great judge,” he says in between laughs.

The judging panel is a well-rounded one, with acts of different ages who all contribute to the end goal.

And that balance has taught Radebe lessons that he would love to incorporate further into his career.

“I love the ease that I see from the veterans of the industry like Tumisho Masha and Jerry Mofokeng just to name a few, people I got to work with and learn from. I see myself being that type of a person when I grow older in the industry.

Radebe, who says he is extremely passionate about acting, has plans under belt to lookout for.

“I am currently working a few projects that I wouldn’t like to disclose as yet but there is a soapie in the pipeline and I will be presenting a show as well very soon," he concludes.

The Saftas will be held in the North West, Sun City on Saturday, to be broadcasted on SABC 2 at 8.


Best TV Soap/Telenovela

High Rollers


The Road

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap/Telenovela

High Rollers


The Road

Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela

Anthony Coleman – High Rollers

Justin Strydom – High Rollers

Siyabonga Thwala – Isibaya

Best Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela

Tina Jaxa – Gold Diggers

Clementine Mosimane – Gold Diggers

Masasa Mbangeni – Scandal!

Best Supporting Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela

Mandla Gaduka – Ashes to Ashes

Pallance Dladla – Isibaya

Warren Masemola – Ring of Lies

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela

Maggie Benedict – Ashes to Ashes

Nandi Nyembe – Ashes to Ashes

Linda Sebezo – Sharon Dlamini

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap/Telenovela

High Rollers



Most Popular TV Soap



The Road

Gold Digger


Generations, The Legacy


Ashes to Ashes

Rhythm City


Getroud met Rugby – Die Sepie

Ring of Lies

Greed and Desire


High Rollers

7de Laan


Best TV Drama



Sober Companion

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama



Sober Companion

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Drama

Die Boekklub



Best Actor – TV Drama

Neels van Jaarsveld – Bloedbroers

Jerry Mofokeng – Heist

Trevor Gumbi – Sober Companion

Best Actress – TV Drama

Tiffany Barbuzano – Sober Companion

Brenda Ngxoli – Hustle

Linda Sokhulu – Sokhulu and Partners

Best Supporting Actor – TV Drama

Chris van Niekerk – Die Boekklub

Tumisho Masha – Saints and Sinners

Warren Masemola – Heist

Best Supporting Actress – TV Drama

Jana Cilliers – Die Boekklub

Tina Jaxa – Isikizi

Samela Tyelbooi – It's Complicated

Best TV Comedy

Puppet Nation ZANews


Those Who Can't

Best Actress – TV Comedy

Sola Nombona

Hannah Barnard

Chantal Herman

Best Actor – TV Comedy

James Borthwick

Kagiso Lediga

Grant Swanby

Best Supporting Actress – TV Comedy

Sylvaine Strike

Kate Normington

Robyn Scott

Best Supporting Actor – TV Comedy

Deon Lotz

Graham Wier

Reabetswe Rangaka

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Comedy


Puppet Nation ZANews

Those Who Can't

Best Talk Show Host

Anele Mdoda – Real Talk with Anele

Bonnie Mbuli – Afternoon Express

Karen Zoid – Republiek van Zoid Afrika

Best Factual Education Programme

Diamond River Hunters

Now or Never

Ocean Adventurer

Best Current Affairs Actuality Programme

Carte Blanche

Saving Microbabies


Best Magazine Show


All Access Mzansi

The Man Cave

Best Variety Show


Jou Ma se Chef

Sarah Graham Food Safari

Best Talk Show

Real Talk with Anele

Republiek van Zoid Afrika

The Chatroom

Best International Format Show

Clash of the Choirs SA

The Great South African Bake Off

The Voice SA

Best TV Presenter

Tumi Morake

Sivuyile Ngesi

Bob Mabena

Katlego Maboe

Chanley Wong

Laurian Nortje

Lawrence Maleka

Thembisa Mdoda

Masechaba Ndlovu

Best Reality Show

The Ultimate Braai Master


Weg!Aftepaaie, Namibie

Best Game Show

Musiek Roulette

Noot vir Noot

Point of Order

Best Music Show

Coke Studio

Jam Sandwich

Xperia Mashlab

Best Youth Programme

100% Youth

Craz-e Sistahood

MTV Base meets Bill Gates

Best Children's Programme

Challenge SOS

Disney Cookout

Silly Seasons – Piece of Cake

Best Wildlife Programme

Africa's Trees of Life – Camelthorn Tree

Brothers in Blood: The Lions of the Sabi Sand

Soul of the Elephant

Best Made for TV Movie


Die Geur van Appelkose



Best Actor – Feature Film

Deon Lotz, Dis Koue Kos, Skat

Dan Jaques Mouton, Noem My Skollie

Garion Dowds, Shepherds and Butchers

Best Actress – Feature Film

Anel Alexander – Sink

Shoki Mokgape – Sink

Christia Visser – Tess

Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film

Grant Swanby – Modder en Bloed

Abdurahgmaan Adams – Noem My Skollie

Deon Lotz – Shepherds and Butchers

Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film

Hlubi Mboya – Dora's Peace

Leleti Khumalo – Free State

Renate Stuurman – Happiness is a Four Letter Word

Best Documentary Feature



Nobody's Died Laughing

Best Achievement in Cinematography – Documentary Feature



Nobody's Died Laughing

Best Documentary Short

Cape Town Carnival 2016 – Street LIfe

South African Heroes – Theresa Gwala

The Silent Form

Best Achievement in Directing – Documentary Short

I Walk Alone

Six to Six

The Silent Form

Best Student Film


Finding Freedom

The Locket

Best Short Film


The Suit


Best Achievement in Sound Design – Feature Film

Jim Petrak, Modder en Bloed

Ivan Millborrow, Shepherds and Butchers

Barry Donnelly, Sink

Best Achievement in Costume Design – Feature Film

Nerine Pienaar & Jolandi Pienaar, Dora's Peace

Emma Moss, Noem My Skollie

Diana Cilliers, Shepherds and Butchers

Best Achievement in Make-up and Hairstyling – Feature Film

Diane Allen, Happiness is a Four Letter Word

Gale Shepherd, Noem My Skollie

Marli Kruger & Talli Patcher, Shepherds and Butchers

Sunday Independent