Research Chairs awarded to UCT five

By nicolette dirk Time of article published Sep 2, 2015

Share this article:

Staff Writer

FIVE researchers at UCT have been recognised for their work by being given SA Research Initiative Chairs.

The awards are part of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and National Research Foundation (NRF) efforts to promote women in research and are based on proposals from universities.

Professors Tania Douglas and Jill Farrant, Associate Professor Nonhlanhla Khumalo, Professor Hanri Mostert and Dr Amanda Weltman were selected as part of the initiative of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and National Research Foundation (NRF).

UCT spokesperson Azwi Mufamadi said previously UCT had 34 such Chairs, of which nine were women.

“That proportion has now risen to 14 out of 39,” he said.

Douglas is the director of the South African Medical Research Council and deputy dean for research in the Faculty of Health Sciences. She specialises in X-ray imaging, automated microscopy and computer-aided detection of abnormalities.

Farrant is a professor in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology Systems Biology Studies on Plant Dessication Tolerance for Food Security.

She has received international recognition for her research in the field of plant responses to water deficit stress.

Khumalo is working on the structure and epidemiology of hair and scalp conditions. Her main research interest is the study of hair loss, particularly in African hair.

“I am also a teacher whose audience extends beyond the traditional academic field through promoting the public understanding of science,” she said.

Mostert is professor of private law at UCT’s Faculty of Law, and Weltman is a senior lecturer in the department of mathematics and applied mathematics.

UCT’s Professor Danie Visser said “all five women have made a significant impact in their respective fields – and I hope they will inspire the next generation”.

Share this article: