File photo: African News Agency (ANA) Archives
Cape Town - A yearly conference between six universities on the continent has started at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology’s (CPUT) District Six campus.

After initially starting with six universities, the U6 consortium now comprises of CPUT; Jaramogi Oginga University of Science and Technology in Kenya; Kwara State University in Nigeria; University of The Gambia; University of Cape Coast in Ghana and University of Ilorin in Nigeria.

CPUT’s dean of applied sciences, Professor Olalekan Fatoki, said U6 later welcomed the University of Calabar, Nigeria and University of Eldoret in Kenya.

The consortium - launched in March 2012 at the University of Ilorin, Nigeria - was established to foster academic linkages and educational collaboration among the eight universities.

As part of the collaboration, the universities are to co-operate on advanced activities such as facilitation and co-ordination of joint research activities and curriculum development; organisation of seminars, academic interactive sessions, and other professional development activities and organisation of international conferences/workshops to be hosted on a rotational basis.

CPUT Vice-Chancellor Dr Chris Nhlapo welcomed delegates and gave reference to Thabo Mbeki’s ‘I am an African speech’.

He expressed the significance of implementing the U6 consortiums’ strategy.

[email protected]

Cape Argus